R. C. Shukla - The Center

Kundalini Shakti Yoga

The kundalini within us resides in the tringular sacrum bone situated at the base of the spine. The classical descriptions of Kundalini are found in the ancient Hindu texts called Tanras. kundalini pathKundalini Yoga is, the mother of all yogas and the most powerful yoga known for an elevation of consciousness, promotion of physical well being and an expansion of consciousness. The goal of Kundalini Yoga is ego-transcedence leading to the union with the divine. Almost every tradition speaks of Kundalini in one form or another and describes Kundalini in its own way. In Japanese it is called Ki; in Chinese, Chi; in Christianity it is called Holy Spirit. The Vedas do not speak of the kundalini. However they speak of the "kala Agni", the energy of the time. It is the power of self, the power of Consciousness. Within every human being lies a divine energy called Kundalini. This energy has two aspects: one manifests this wordly existence, and the other leads us to the highest truth. The mundane aspect of this energy is functioning perfectly, but the inner aspect is dormant, sleeping. When the inner Kundalini energy is awakened, it leads us to the state of self realisation.

The Art Science and Technique of Kundalini Yoga

There are two primary states for the Kundalini.

1. Dynamic
2. Static

The static state referes to the Kundalini as being in a dormant state (ie asleep in western term). I prefer to use the term dormant rather than asleep. To me the kundalini could not be asleep but in reality is merely in static state. When the kundalini moves from a static to a dynamic state it is refered to as Kundalini awakening.

The word Kundalini has been derived from "Kundal" meaning coiled. This power is symbolized by a sleeping serpent with his tail in its mouth. Kundalini is a force within the human brain that activates the chakras and it is first felt at the base of the spine in the first root chakra. The speed of Kundalini is more than that of the speed of light. The Indian system of awakening Kundalini is one such discipline which is supposed to provide high levels of physical, mental, and spiritual energy. There are five branches of Yoga Hatha Yoga, Kundalini yoga, Laya Yoga, Raj Yoga and Samadhi Yoga. The Kprocess presents a backward journey towards God. The awakening of Kundalini leads to a total transformation. It is a way to stay fit for life. On a physical plane all body cells and components get charged with life force resulting in their efficient functioning. On a mental plane it starts transforming your thought process for betterment. On spiritual plane it unites you with God consciousness. Many seers have called Kundalini by many names such as kula Kundalini, tapasvini nagini and bhujagana etc. Some say that kundalini is identified with the right Vagus nerve (not the left). The Vagus or tenth cranial nerve is connected with the hind brain. In fact, there are three kinds of Kundalini within the body-Prana Kundalini, Chit Kundalini and Para Kundalini. There are four ways in which the Guru awakens the Shakti; by touch, word, look and thought. The first method is initiation through touch, called sparsha diksha. The second method of initiation is through word, or mantra diksha. The third method is called drik diksha, initiation through a look. The fourth way is initiation by thought, called manasa diksha.

Three Energetic Pathways

Ida, Pingala and Sushumna Nadis are psychic channels for the distribution of prana in the astral body. In human physiology, the two nadis of Ida and Pingala correspond with the two halves of the autonomic nervous system- the sympathetic and para sympathetic. Ida is negative and called the moon (Chandra nadi), while pingala is positive and called the sun (Surya nadi). The whole science of Kundalini Yoga concerns the awakening of Sushumna, for once Sushumna comes to life, a means of communication between the higher and lower dimensions of Consciousness is established and the awakening of Kundalini occurs. Kundalini is also described as "ENERGY" on the physical plane and NOTHINGNESS on the cosmic plane. On one extreme it is supposed to provide you with supernatural physical powers to fulfull your physical desires and on the other it could provide you with supernatural cosmic powers to eliminate all physical desires. Both extremes lead to complete fulfillment. The former route is fulfillment through dissipation of energy while the latter is through conservation of energy. In case of loss of self control in the former process it may prove dangerous. Appropriate balance is very necessary. All emotional disturbances are basically a disturbance in energy which is no longer at the command of the consciousness. The entire process of Kundalini Sadhana consists in four stages.

1. Awakening of Kundalini Shakti.
2. Arousal of Kundalini Shakti.
3. Chakra Bhedan.
4. Meeting and merger of Shiva and Shakti in Sahasrar.

Kundalini generally gets activated in three ways. Firstly it may get activated automatically. Secondly it may get aroused in one who is making sincere efforts with the grace of God or Guru. Thirdly kundalini may get activated in a person after the THIRD eye is opened. Kundalini ascends via the six chakras and passes through the brahma-randhra to the plane of the high consciousness. The awakening of inner Kundalini is the true beginning of the spiritual journey. The scriptures say that as long as the inner Kundalini is sleeping, it doesn't matter how many austerities we follow, how much Yoga we practise, or how many mantras we repeat, we will never realize our identity with our inner Self. We will never know our own divinity.

Kundalini Signs and Symptoms

Kundalini energy exists one inch below of Muladhar Chakra at a place called Kanda. Its shape is triangular. There are three views as regards to location of Kundalini. One is general view described above. Second view is that it is in the navel (in view of Sant Gyaneshwar). And the third view is that it is located in the Anahat Chakra (white page 454) Shakti Viseshank Kalyan. The following are common manifestations of the rising of Kundalini. Muscles Twitches, cramps or spasm, energy rushes, itching, vibrating, prickling, tingling, crawling sensations, intense heat or cold, involuntary body movements, jerking, tremors, shaking, alterations in eating and sleeping patterns, intensified or diminished sexual desires, headache, racing heart beat, pain in the chest, digestive system problems, numbness or pain in limbs, emotional outburst, depression, hearing inner sounds, ecstasy and direct awareness of auras and chakras. Sensory symptoms may include subjective changes in feeling of heat or cold, a feeling of electricity in the body, persistent sexual arousal, headache, pressure inside head, tingling vibration and gastrointestinal problems and intense mood swings.